Skip to content

lichen and moss

December 2, 2009

I know from experience that creativity promotes mental health. A sign that someone is recovering from a bout of depression, for example, can be a renewed interest in creative activities, be it writing, painting, photography, baking, whatever.

Another thing that can work against negativity is gratitude. A psychologist friend once told me that, trite as it sounds, ‘counting your blessings’ is the most effective way of staying positive.

Like many people, I find this time of year hard. The lack of light, the frenzy that is Christmas, the cold, the wet – these things can conspire to defeat all our strategies for remaining ‘on top’.

So this blog is a kind of experiment. I’m taking the two strategies above – being creative and being grateful – and trying to combine them into something that will, I hope, make getting through each day that little bit easier. Initially, I’ll be happy if I can post every day in Advent. After that, well, we’ll see.

Today was one of those days when you wish there were light switches outside. I went for a walk in my beloved Porter Valley, convinced I would find the image that would get this blog off the ground. Even at midday it was so dull and grey that I began to wonder if I would be defeated before I had even begun. Then, turning the corner and striking up towards Fulwood village I came upon this moss, so unbelievably bright that it seemed to glow from within. I love the contrast with the muted, but still vibrant, green of the lichen.

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 17, 2009 1:42 am

    I’ve just worked my way backwards and enjoyed reading all your posts. I think you are on to a good thing here. Good for all of us come to think of it.

    Looking forward to more.

Leave a Reply

