Skip to content

wild things

December 19, 2009

I know it sounds odd but I really think wild birds can help ease depression. I always feel better when I see the sparrows on the feeders in our garden, and a gloomy day brightened recently when my son and I caught sight of a female blackbird devouring the berries on this holly tree. She took off from the wall, caught a berry in her beak in mid-flight, then landed on the flowerbed to eat it. She did this again and again and did not seem at all worried by our presence, not even when we slammed the front door by mistake. Magic.

These tracks, left today, are certainly from the woodpigeon who waddles around under the feeders, catching all the bits the sparrows drop. The dunnocks like to do that too, but they are much nippier and it amazes me that there is ever anything left for the rather dozy pigeon.

There is something very reassuring about seeing the same individual birds every day. It adds to the feeling of belonging in a place, of being rooted there.

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 20, 2009 5:25 pm

    There is indeed something uplifting about getting close to wild birds. Now we have three cats and less ivy in our garden we have far fewer visitors. I did see an unhappy, chilled blackbird in a shrub along the road on Friday, and it made me miserable too. Then a pretty wren today at Mudchute Farm which cheered me.

Leave a Reply

