Skip to content

caim

December 23, 2009

The url of this blog was not really planned. I kept trying things and WordPress kept saying they were already taken. I am very happy, though, with what I ended up with – I am sure it was serendipitous.

I found out here that the caim is an encircling prayer that Celtic Christians used to affirm the presence of God. This is so right for Christmas, as we celebrate Emmanuel, God with us.

Here is a modern caim, written by David Adams, one that seems fitting for the next few days. This is for anyone who wants to do their best by the people they love, to celebrate in a way that brings joy, but who is also aware of the need to guard against stress and tiredness.

Circle me O God

Keep hope within

Despair without.

Circle me O God

Keep peace within

Keep turmoil out.

Circle me O God

Keep calm within

Keep storms without.

Circle me O God

Keep strength within

Keep weakness out.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Susie permalink
    December 23, 2009 10:05 pm

    I think you might benefit from prayer beads/rope like the one Harry gave me last year. It really helps you concentrate on your prayer and is good with things like the above caim, to repeat and meditate. You can try mine out if you like 🙂

  2. April 4, 2014 9:26 am

    I understand that this is an old post, however the David Adam link in this post is broken – I believe the correct link is now: http://www.kevinmayhew.com/info/contributors/david-adam.html

Leave a Reply

