Skip to content

fragile

May 11, 2010

If you go down to London today …. you’re sure to run into an elephant somewhere.

This one’s by India Jane Birley and is on the South Bank. She’s part of a wonderfully imaginative project organised by the charity Elephant Family in an effort to draw attention to the perilous situation of the Asian elephant. The other elephant I spotted on a recent flying visit to the capital was a work by Ellen Anderson at St Pancras station.

This juxtaposition of solid elephant and fragile dandelion clock is a brilliant way of summing up the situation. In the past 100 years, the number of Asian elephants has declined by 90%. In another 30 years, they could disappear altogether, mainly as a result of habitat loss.

Elephant Family hopes to raise £2m by auctioning off the statues. There are also some exquisite smaller versions for sale in their online shop.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 14, 2010 1:46 pm

    I’m having a day in London soon-ish so hope the elephants are still in evidence.

  2. May 20, 2010 4:48 pm

    Oooh, I love the ones you caught! And I’m really happy to have discovered your blog, you’ll be seeing me here a lot more 🙂
    By the way, Liz, they should be around until July 🙂

  3. May 24, 2010 1:11 pm

    Hi there! I love the dandilion on the elephant! I agree it looks so delicate. Thank you for entering my giveaway over on my blog – I’m pleased to say you were randomly selected and are the winner of the knitting kit! Please contact me, let me know your postal address and I’ll get your prize to you…. Regards Julia

Leave a Reply

