Skip to content

FO: my first Zimmermann

June 20, 2010

Yes, it’s the famous baby sweater on two needles,  made for Matilda, the newest member of the beautiful family that lives next door to us. I really enjoy EZ’s writing style, but I must say I was grateful for the Internet and Ravelry to help me interpret her very concise instructions.

I had hopes of shamelessly copying Fridica’s achingly cute creation and making some matching tiny shoes, but I didn’t feel they were working in this yarn. It’s Sirdar Snuggly Baby Bamboo, 80 per cent bamboo and 20 per cent wool and didn’t seem to me to have enough ‘give’ around the front. No matter: I’m pretty sure Matilda will look adorable anyway.

Next up is another cardigan, but this time for me. It’s Que Sera in Rowan All Seasons Cotton. The colourway is called ‘Jacuzzi’ and reminds me of a David Hockney swimming pool. It’s an aran weight cotton mix and the idea is at least to look and feel a bit summery, even if  the temperature outside is decidedly not.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 20, 2010 10:35 pm

    Well done! How long did it take you?
    And also, you make me blush : )

  2. JoannaD permalink
    June 21, 2010 9:16 am

    I think it took me about 10 days to knit it and another two weeks to get round to sewing the buttons on!

  3. June 23, 2010 2:55 pm

    That’s good timing! I mean, it’s not like it takes a lot of time, it had just completely killed my knitting mojo… All those lace repeats 😛
    By the way, I’ve just nominated you for the beautiful blogger award over at my place 🙂

    • JoannaD permalink
      June 24, 2010 6:04 am

      Oh my, how exciting! Thank you. Am in transit at the moment – look forward to checking this out later!

Leave a Reply

