Skip to content

{this moment}

July 2, 2010

Soulemama has a lovely ritual for Fridays. She posts a single photo, no words, to capture a moment from the week that she especially wants to pause and remember.

It’s an idea that I think works better for families with small children, who tend to be more available and  less private than teenagers. But I have one for this week, albeit with a few words too.

The wanderer is back from her travels and here she is in a June garden with dad, brother, sister and boyfriend on her first evening at home. The sun shone, the food was abundant and there was Yorkshire bitter. (She had just one complaint about New Zealand: ‘They don’t understand what ale is.’)


13 Comments leave one →
  1. July 2, 2010 11:59 am

    very nice. 🙂

  2. July 2, 2010 12:32 pm

    Lovely moment.

    I have noticed many of the participants of This Moment are parents of small children and their moments revolve around that. My daughters are quite a bit older….but I decided that a moment to savor and remember doesn’t necessarily have to include anyone so I joined in too. 🙂 Today my moment does involve my daughter and a friend…last day at the beach.

    http://www.magikalfolkcrafts.com/whispersfromthewoods/?p=3520

  3. July 2, 2010 2:39 pm

    Lovely moment. I think its important to see the special moments of teenagers and older children. It is easy when they’re small, but as a mom of 3 young ones, I am already imagining how much faster these moments will go when they are older.

    • JoannaD permalink
      July 2, 2010 2:46 pm

      They go faster and they’re harder to capture as well. I wish the internet had been what it is now when mine were small.

  4. July 2, 2010 3:04 pm

    I love all the color in this photo!

    • JoannaD permalink
      July 2, 2010 3:25 pm

      Thank you! I went to visit your blog and your pics are awesome, so I really appreciate this compliment!

  5. July 2, 2010 4:28 pm

    What a most beautiful garden…. my thumbs are anything *but* green, so I’m always amazed by others’ gardening skills!

    Thanks for stopping by my “moment” earlier. I love Soule Mama’s “this moment” weekly tradition. Half the fun is seeing others’ “moments;” the other half is discovering new and interesting blogs. I’ve enjoyed reading your posts and admiring your knitting skills. And I especially like the name of your site. Happy weekend!

  6. July 2, 2010 8:04 pm

    Great photograph (and lovely garden). I bet that first glass of beer tasted soooo good!

    • JoannaD permalink
      July 3, 2010 2:52 pm

      A kind of blissful expression appeared on her face …!

  7. emmalina73 permalink
    July 2, 2010 8:51 pm

    A lovely moment. And she is right, only Yorkshire has really good beer!

    • JoannaD permalink
      July 3, 2010 2:51 pm

      Once appreciated, never forgotten, I think!

  8. July 6, 2010 7:33 am

    Good moment! I love that your daughter was saddened by the lack of ALE in NZ! It is one of my very favourite things about the UK… along with the Ordnance Survey, Cornish pasties, and Cotswold sheep!

  9. July 9, 2010 10:51 am

    Pleased that she is home safely and able to sup again the nectar of the Gods back here.

Leave a Reply

