Skip to content

FO: a phoenix hat

August 8, 2010
tags:

This was supposed to be a garter stitch baby kimono, a pattern that I fell in love with after seeing this one by Birdwoman. However, almost from the moment I cast on I got a bad feeling about it. First of all, I went off the shade of blue I’d bought; then I decided the garter stitch was so easy that I could knit it while watching some really gripping episodes of The West Wing (cue several dropped stitches), and finally I attempted to do an applied i-cord border which was a disaster.

The intended recipient was late arriving, and on the weekend his mother was being induced, I finally abandoned the cardigan. Very late the same night, I typed ‘striped baby hat’ into Ravelry and two days later, this was ready:

It’s the rolled brim striped beanie by Brenda Green and I think the transmutation from kimono cardigan has really been quite successful. I’m also rather pleased that I didn’t throw a tantrum about the initial failure (although I would like to learn applied i-cord one day and am not quite sure why my first attempt was so terrible).

I also finished the bootees of sanity, which I blogged about here

I hope little Zach will enjoy wearing his matching accessories!


5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 10, 2010 10:10 pm

    Sweet!

  2. August 10, 2010 10:15 pm

    Sorry to write twice, but what is wrong with your i cord? It looks ok from here.

    • JoannaD permalink
      August 11, 2010 5:04 pm

      I think what you can see is where I cast on in the contrast colour. Originally I was going to do that at the bottom, then cast off in cc on the sleeves, but then I decided the front edges needed some kind of finishing too, which is where I tried the i cord and it just refused to lie straight. I think i should have practised before trying it on a garment!

  3. August 12, 2010 7:29 pm

    I really like the idea of “booties of sanity”. My word, I could have done with those at various times…

    PS They are deliciously jolly.

  4. Helen permalink
    August 12, 2010 9:03 pm

    Seriously cute hat and booties! TBH I wasn’t 100% happy with my applied i-cord either. The i-cord bind-off was much, much neater.

Leave a Reply

