Skip to content

down time

September 3, 2010

It was good to get away right at the end of the school holidays. Somehow, August always feels like the end of the year to me; September like a time of new beginnings. Maybe it’s because I’ve rarely been away from the rhythms of the academic year since I was five years old. And December is such a whirl that I never find time to look back and reflect. No, August is much better for that.

As everyone eases back into their ‘normal’ life, putting on school uniform and work clothes, I’ve collected together a few pictures of our holiday in Wales to remind me of those peaceful, precious times together.

There was lots and lots of reading.

And knitting with an appropriately Celtic touch.

Some of us tried new things.

There was space just to meander and dream.

And plenty of time for cards and beer.

There were mountains to explore …

… and cliffs too.

And all evening to photograph the sunset.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. September 3, 2010 1:11 pm

    Looks like a proper holiday 🙂 I love the combination of colour and Celtic motif, by the way.

  2. JoannaD permalink
    September 3, 2010 1:52 pm

    Thank you. I just hope I can grab enough time now we’re back to finish it. So nearly there!

  3. September 6, 2010 3:59 am

    Oh, breathtaking photos! So lovely! When you said you’d been away on holiday, I was so hoping you would post some pics! I love to see the ‘slice of life’ from across the pond.

    I have only ever been once to England, and that was for four days that were spent in London (which I loved, loved, loved – magnificent city!). But one of these days, for sure….we plan to go back and get out to the countryside. Your photos are such inspiration! What a beautiful backdrop to your quiet times spent together as a family! Thanks for sharing.

    ~Christy

    • JoannaD permalink
      September 6, 2010 7:12 pm

      Thank you for such a lovely comment. I thoroughly recommend the countryside in the UK, especially the north of England, Wales and Scotland. Hope you do make it back here some day.

  4. September 6, 2010 10:23 pm

    That’s what i call a holiday…

  5. September 7, 2010 9:41 am

    Sounds wonderful and captured so beautifully in your photographs..

Leave a Reply

