Skip to content

knit 1, Kindle 2

January 9, 2011

When I started playing with my Kindle on Christmas day, I knew it would be a terrific boon to my reading and studying. What I didn’t expect was how useful it would prove to be for my knitting.

These days, most of the patterns I use are pdfs, and by the time I have finished with them they look extremely scruffy.

The Kindle has a nifty feature that means you can send it a pdf by email. I’ve discovered I really like reading my knitting patterns on the Kindle. I don’t lose them down the sofa, knock them onto the floor or accidentally sit on them – all things that happened regularly with paper patterns. Even better, though, the Kindle allows you to highlight and annotate the file as much as you like. Here’s an example from the wildly popular pattern for Fetching mittens. See all the neat little numbers: they’re how I now keep track of where I’ve got up to.

Every time I restart, I go to my ‘notes and clippings’ file to see what to do next.

But although I love the new orderliness, I do a feel a little bit nostalgic for my old creased and scribbled bits of paper. I think they had more character, somehow.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 10, 2011 11:00 am

    I have to sconfess that I am a luddite when it comes to these things, and – although the cost of ink and paper drives me beserk – would always prefer the character of my scribbled on knitting patterns to the clean interface of the kindle!

    That said, I have been enjoying the immediacy of Mark’s iPad when it comes to bringing up a pattern from the interwebs… so maybe in time I will change!

    But the scribbly bits of paper that I find in the bottom of my knitting bag every time I tidy it up are a beautiful – if higgledy-piggledy – record of knitting thoughts.

    • Joanna permalink*
      January 10, 2011 5:35 pm

      To be honest, I’m with you in my heart over this, Felix! The beauty is *in* the higgledy-pigglediness, I think.

  2. January 12, 2011 3:40 pm

    Hmmm… I have been on the fence about the Kindle. I do not have one, but have considered it. It sure would be great for portability, but I wonder if I would miss the feel of a real book in my hands? This sounds like a great application for it here. I had no idea it had that kind of capability!

    By the way – can I ask what you are making? Love the color of that yarn.

    • Joanna permalink*
      January 12, 2011 5:40 pm

      It is fab for portability. I have just been using it in a cafe – so much easier to manipulate when you also have tea and cake (and I often have tea and cake). I’m making some fingerless gloves for daughter no. 2 to match a hat I made her for Christmas. Pictures to follow when finished!

Leave a Reply

