Skip to content

FO: striped yoke pullover

January 22, 2011

There’s actually been quite a lot of knitting this winter, but the skies have been so dull that I didn’t manage to photograph anything until this week.

Can you tell I hate having my picture taken? Look at that tensed fist!

I started this sweater at the end of November when the Met Office was forecasting a really hard winter. I wanted something that was fast and would keep me warm as the snow piled up outside. Obviously it had to be a thick yarn with a high wool content. The green is Sublime merino tweed chunky and I enjoyed its slight fluffiness and the vivid flecks of colour.

The pattern is from The Knitter’s Handy Book of Sweater Patterns by Ann Budd, a wonderful resource that offers 16 basic designs that can be adapted in an infinite number of ways. It’s a kind of halfway house between following a pattern slavishly and designing your own.

I started in such a hurry that I wasn’t even sure what I was going to do when I got to the yoke, but the further I got the more I yearned for stripes. In this I was inspired by a sweater that the amazing Kate, one of my very favourite bloggers, knitted some time before she designed the now world-famous Owls (scroll down). I’d seen her Razzle Dazzle Rose ages ago and it had stayed in my mind. Not that my knitting skills come anywhere near hers (if only).

I didn’t think any of the other Sublime colours would go with the green so I bought some wonderful Felted Tweed from Rowan and held two strands together.

I’m really pleased with how this came out. It’s easy to pull on over a pair of jeans and keeps me warm and cosy whatever the weather is doing outside. And it only took about a week to knit!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 22, 2011 7:07 pm

    It’s lovely! And it made me think of Kate’s Razzle as soon as I saw it, I’ve been thinking about making my own Razzle lately too…

    • Joanna permalink*
      January 24, 2011 9:34 am

      Thank you! Good luck with your Razzle.

  2. January 25, 2011 9:08 pm

    I love it! Beautiful colors. I am so amazed by people who can knit.

  3. January 27, 2011 10:35 am

    Knitting really isn’t hard. You should try it! And thank you for your kind comments on the sweater.

Leave a Reply

