Skip to content

FO: a Christmas rose

February 1, 2011


This may be my favourite of all the things I have ever knitted. Everything came together: gorgeous yarn, brilliant pattern, perfect match of the two. Oh, and the recipient loved it! What more can you ask for?


The pattern is Rose Red by the wonderful Ysolda and the yarn is Rowan Kid Classic. Neither of them are particularly original choices, but let’s just say there’s a reason why they’re so popular.

The yarn was a Christmas gift for my daughter Susanna who, being a crafty type herself, does not remotely resent the fact that I get at least as much pleasure out of her present as she does. The pattern was one I’ve had my eye on for a while and I have to say again that it was an absolute joy to knit. With lace and cables working together, it takes just enough concentration to make it absorbing but not so much that you don’t dare to have the television on.

Even better, it only took one of the two balls of yarn I’d given Susanna. So I was able to whip up a quick pair of Fetchings to match.

I’ve called it a Christmas rose partly because it was a seasonal present but also partly in honour of one of my favourite plants, the hellebore, commonly known as a Christmas rose and one of the few things worth looking at in our garden at the moment.


4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 1, 2011 10:22 pm

    Rose Red is aaaaalways a winner. It looks great in the Kid Classic, well chosen!

    • Joanna permalink*
      February 3, 2011 9:53 am

      Thank you! I hope you realise you are totally my hat inspiration. I shall be looking at your blog for ideas when I come to make the next one.

  2. February 1, 2011 10:29 pm

    Oh my…..be still my heart. I LOVE it. The color, the pattern…the whole ball of (now-transformed) yarn! Beautiful. I have total knitting envy.

    (btw: you actually have things in your garden…right now?!?!)

    • Joanna permalink*
      February 3, 2011 9:56 am

      Thank you! We mostly have dead things in our garden right now but there are snowdrops pushing through as well as the hellebore to give me hope that winter is going to end some day.

Leave a Reply

